Connections

At work yesterday, and I ran into a coworker in the hall.  I could tell she had something on her mind, and I stopped to chat. She told me about a very personal health situation she’s going through, and how she won’t be around the office for several months.

I was worried about her and  touched that she’d confided in me. She has always been very kind and supportive of me as I transitioned in the work place. I asked her if I could give her a hug, and we hugged for the first time. I hope she gets to feeling better and is able to return. I’ll miss our smiles and greetings, just little things like that.

I remember she had kind words for me a long time ago, pre-transition, I led some training in a new software application. She was very complimentary when we spoke after.

I don’t think that these connections only happen now because I’m perceived as a woman. I do think that because I feel so much better about who I am that I’m more authentic and open in my interactions. Connections feel more real.

I’ll miss her while she’s out, but I know she’ll get healthy again and we’ll be trading smiles and pleasantries, and maybe even more hugs, soon.

Leave a comment